How do we justify, when we spend?

brainOur reader Rajeev came across an interesting piece about what goes through our mind before we buy something? How do we make peace with ourselves before we purchase something, we really don’t need?

Here’s what goes on in our heads before we spend money on stuff we probably don’t need. Certainly, there would be more, but some of the more common ones are:

  • I deserve it. I work all day. I’m going to use what little money I have to bring myself a little bit of happiness.
  • I got paid today. It’s Friday. I have a little bit of cushion to spend money and buy myself a little something. Friday nights are for having fun and going out.
  • I “need” to buy it. I need a new laptop. I need a new mp3 player. I need new jeans.
  • Buying this is more like an investment. This thing will pay for itself. Once I buy a new bread maker, I’ll never have to buy one again for the rest of my life.
  • It’s been a while since I bought something new. My television is getting old. It still works but it’s time to buy a new one.
  • I only live once. I want to spend my money while I’m still young. I’m not going to enjoy it as much when I’m older. I’ll invest my money when I’m a little older.
Leave a Reply

